Certification of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)

Hohenstein Laboratories GmbH & Co. KG is an independent testing and certification office for PPE. With our modern laboratories, we can offer you a wide range of testing services for your products from the harmonised product range.

The regulation (EU) 2016/425 for PPE defines clear specifications for the manufacture and placement of products in the European Economic Area. Thus, the issuing of a CE certification label for a product must first always consider which directives, regulations and requirements should be applied for the product.

According to regulation (EU) 2016/425, the term “PPE” refers to

  • a) equipment that is designed and manufactured to be worn or held by a person for protection against one or more risks to that personʼs health or safety,
  • b) interchangeable components for equipment referred to in point (a) which are essential for its protective function,
  • c) connection systems for equipment referred to in point (a) which are not held or worn by a person, that are designed to connect that equipment to an external device or to a reliable anchorage point, that are not designed to be permanently fixed and that do not require fastening works before use.

The Regulation stipulates a classification in three categories:

PPE category I (minor risks)

This category includes personal protective equipment for which it can be assumed that the user can assess its effectiveness against minor risks and that the effects of which, when they are gradual, can be perceived by the user in good time and without danger (e.g. protective clothing for protection against rain or gloves for gardening tasks).

PPE Category II

This category includes all personal protective equipment that cannot be classified as either category l or category lll (e.g. high-visibility warning clothing or safety gloves that protect against mechanical risks).

PPE Category III (high / fatal risks)

Category III includes personal protective equipment that is intended to protect against fatal dangers or serious and irreversible damage to health and where it must be assumed that the user cannot identify the immediate effect of the danger in good time (e.g. protective clothing for the fire brigade or protective gloves for fire fighters).

Personal protective clothing may only be sold in the European Union if it meets the requirements of regulation (EU) 2016/425.

Overview of the different types of certificates in the product area of PPE:

EU type examination certificate

An EU type examination certificate can be issued if the product is subject to a regulation or directive which stipulates an EU type examination certificate as a conformity assessment procedure for the product.

Product certificate

A product certificate can be issued if the product is subject to an EU regulation or directive, but no EU type examination certificate is stipulated for this product.

Confirmations

The confirmation is issued for products which are not subject to any EU regulation or directive.

HuPF assessment (for products) and HuPF certification (for materials / previous products )

The HuPF (German abbreviation for “Manufacturing and Testing Description for a Universal Fire-Resistant Clothing”) is a manufacturing standard for protective clothing used as part of the personal equipment for firefighters and is valid for the fire service in Germany. It defines how the superordinate requirement standard DIN EN 469 should be implemented.

Link to HuPF standard on the website of the Ministry of the Interior and Sport in Hessen (in german)

If requested the certification body is happy to provide further details about the information listed in Article 4.6 of DIN EN ISO/IEC 17065:2013-01.

Learn more about our test offer for personal protective equipment.

How you benefit from testing and certification:
  • You increase the safety and quality of your products and make a strong argument for your market presence
  • They reduce your liability risk and the probability of complaints due to documented tests and standards
  • You receive a certificate from an accredited and notified testing and certification body which confirms the safety of your product and which has a high level of international acceptance

Zertifizierung von Persönlicher Schutzausrüstung (PSA)

Hohenstein Laboratories GmbH & Co. KG ist eine unabhängige Prüf- und Zertifizierungsstelle für PSA. In unseren modernen Laboratorien bieten wir Ihnen ein breites Spektrum von Prüfleistungen für ihre Produkte aus dem harmonisierten Produktbereich an.

Die Verordnung (EU) 2016/425 für PSA formuliert klare Vorgaben für das Herstellen und das Inverkehrbringen von Produkten im Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum. Der CE-Kennzeichnung eines Produkts müssen also immer die Überlegungen vorangestellt werden, welche Richtlinien, Verordnungen und Anforderungen für dieses Produkt anzuwenden sind.

Gemäß der Verordnung (EU) 2016/425 bezeichnet der Ausdruck "PSA"
a) Ausrüstung, die entworfen und hergestellt wird, um von einer Person als Schutz gegen ein oder mehrere Risiken für ihre Gesundheit oder ihre Sicherheit getragen oder gehalten zu werden,
b) austauschbare Bestandteile für Ausrüstungen gemäß Buchstabe a, die für ihre Schutzfunktion unerlässlich sind,
c) Verbindungssysteme für Ausrüstungen gemäß Buchstabe a, die nicht von einer Person gehalten oder getragen werden und so entworfen sind, dass sie diese Ausrüstung mit einer externen Vorrichtung oder einem sicheren Ankerpunkt verbinden, und die nicht so entworfen sind, dass sie ständig befestigt sein müssen, und die vor ihrer Verwendung keine Befestigungsarbeiten benötigen.

Die Verordnung sieht eine Klassifizierung in drei Kategorien vor:

PSA-Kategorie I (geringfügige Risiken)

In diese Kategorie gehören solche persönlichen Schutzausrüstungen, bei denen man davon ausgeht, dass der Benutzer selbst die Wirksamkeit gegenüber geringfügigen Risiken beurteilen kann und deren Wirkung, wenn sie allmählich eintritt, vom Benutzer rechtzeitig und ohne Gefahr wahrgenommen werden kann (z.B. Schutzkleidung zum Schutz gegen Regen oder Handschuhe für Gartenarbeiten).

PSA-Kategorie II

Zu dieser Kategorie gehören alle persönlichen Schutzausrüstungen, die weder der Kategorie I noch der Kategorie III zuzuordnen sind (z.B. Hochsichtbare Warnkleidung oder Schutzhandschuhe gegen mechanische Risiken)

PSA-Kategorie III (hohe / tödliche Risiken)

Zu Kategorie III gehören persönliche Schutzausrüstungen, die gegen tödliche Gefahren oder ernste und irreversible Gesundheitsschäden schützen sollen, und bei denen man davon ausgehen muss, dass der Benutzer die unmittelbare Wirkung der Gefahr nicht rechtzeitig erkennen kann (z.B. Schutzkleidung für die Feuerwehr oder Feuerwehrschutzhandschuhe).

Persönliche Schutzausrüstungen dürfen in der Europäischen Union nur in Verkehr gebracht werden, wenn sie die Anforderungen der Verordnung (EU) 2016/425 erfüllen.

Übersicht der verschiedenen Arten von Zertifikaten und Bescheinigungen im Produktbereich PSA:

EU-Baumusterprüfbescheinigung

Eine EU-Baumusterprüfbescheinigung kann vergeben werden, wenn das Produkt einer Verordnung oder Richtlinie unterliegt, die eine EU-Baumusterprüfung als ein Konformitätsbewertungsverfahren für das Produkt vorsieht.

Produktbescheinigung

Eine Produktbescheinigung kann vergeben werden, wenn das Produkt zwar einer EU-Verordnung oder Richtlinie unterliegt, aber für dieses Produkt keine EU-Baumusterprüfung vorgesehen ist.

Bestätigungen

Die Bestätigung wird für Produkte ausgestellt, die keiner EU-Richtlinie oder Verordnung unterliegen.

HuPF-Bescheid (für Produkte) und HuPF-Bescheinigung
(für Materialien / Vorprodukte)

Die HuPF (Abkürzung für "Herstellungs- und Prüfungsbeschreibung für eine universelle Feuerwehrschutzbekleidung") ist eine für die Feuerwehr in Deutschland geltende Ausführungsnorm für Schutzkleidung als Teil der persönlichen Ausrüstung von Feuerwehrangehörigen. Sie legt fest, wie die übergeordnete Anforderungsnorm DIN EN 469 ausgeführt werden soll.

Link zur HuPF-Norm auf der Website des Hessischen Ministerium des Innern und für Sport

Auf Anfrage gibt die Zertifizierungsstelle gern weitere Auskünfte zum Zertifizierungsverfahren, zum Beschwerdeverfahren oder zu den ausgestellten Zertifikaten.

Gern begleiten unsere Fachexperten Sie bei der Produktprüfung und Zertifizierung, d.h. bei der Prüfung nach gesetzlichen Anforderungen und der Marktzulassung bis hin zu freiwilligen Prüfungen und der Einhaltung unternehmensinternen Produktansprüchen.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unser Prüfangebot für Persönliche Schutzausrüstung.

Ihr Vorteil durch eine Prüfung und Zertifizierung:
  • Sie erhöhen die Sicherheit und Qualität Ihrer Produkte und gewinnen starke Argumente für Ihren Marktauftritt
  • Sie senken Ihr Haftungsrisiko und die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Reklamationen durch dokumentierte Prüfungen und Standards
  • Sie erhalten ein Zertifikat einer akkreditierten und notifizierten Prüf- und Zertifizierungsstelle, das die Sicherheit Ihres Produkts bescheinigt und international eine hohe Akzeptanz besitzt