FAQ Compression testing

Summarized for you: all frequently asked questions on the subject of compression testing.
Yet don’t hesitate to contact us in case you have additional questions. We’ll be happy to help!

The state of the science

1. What studies have there been so far on the effectiveness of compression textiles and what where the findings?

Here we have confined ourselves to the following two studies, or rather, referred to these studies as being representative:

  • 1. Efficacy of Compression Socks to Enhance Recovery in Distance Athletes - Sport and Art 2(2): 15-18, 2014 - DOI: 10.13189/saj.2014.020201 - Lauran Fletcher1, Scot Raab2, Sonya Sanderson1,*, Luke Vargo1 1Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education, Valdosta State University, Valdosta, 31698, GA, United States 2Department of Physical Therapy and Athletic Training, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, 86011, AZ, United States *Corresponding Author: slsanderson@valdosta.edu http://www.hrpub.org/download/20140105/SAJ1-19901529.pdf
  • 2. Initial study on the increase in performance due to sports textiles with compressive properties (IGF No. 16868 N). Hohenstein Institut für Textilinnovation gGmbH Schloss Hohenstein 74357 Bönnigheim – Head: Prof. Dr. Stefan Mecheels
    Project Leader Martin Harnisch (m.harnisch@hohenstein.de). The IGF project 16868 N by the research association Forschungskuratorium Textil e.V., Reinhardtstraße 12-14, 10117 Berlin, was financed through the AiF within the framework of the programme for promotion of cooperative industrial research and development (IGF) by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology based on a resolution by the German Bundestag.

The studies carried out so far took very different approaches, so that it is difficult if not impossible to compare the findings. The general trend of the results suggests that any positive effects cannot be proven to be significant (which is not to say that some individual products do not have very positive effects). However, what does seem certain is that wearing compression clothing/hosiery has no negative consequences. It also appears to be clear that the vast majority of participants in the studies took a very positive view of the effect of compression.

2. Is research into the effectiveness of compression textiles still going on?

We can assume that more studies are being carried out, because the results so far do not satisfy either the supporters or the critics.

3. Are there any findings about how compression affects the physical performance of sportsmen and -women?

This question has been addressed in many studies. In some cases, the volunteers reported their subjective impression that the effect was positive. Objectively, however, no significant effects were recorded, at least not for most of the volunteers. In particular cases, the situation may be quite different.

Quality label

4. What benefits does the quality label "Compression & pressure profile" offer me as a manufacturer?

The Hohenstein quality label provides objective confirmation of the stated compressive effect, provided by an independent and internationally recognised test institute. The compressive effect can also be monitored and confirmed over a longer period by follow-up testing. The quality label differentiates you from the competition, and consistency in testing ensures that products can be compared objectively. The label is also recognised and valid internationally, and available in various different languages.

5. What benefits does the quality label "Compression & pressure profile" offer me as a consumer or retailer?

The details on the quality label have been assessed by an independent body according to consistent standards. The products have to meet minimum requirements for their compressive effect. The quality label also shows the compression profile of the product, i.e. whether the compression gradually increases or decreases or stays the same. This ensures that the products are suitable for their intended area of use, as sports or travel socks, and that the claims made about them are correct.

6. What requirements must a product satisfy in order to be awarded the "Compression & pressure profile" quality label?

Among other things, this depends on whether the textile being tested is for use in the sport or travel sector. For travel socks, there must be a minimum pressure of 10 mmHg, the pressure must decrease (upwards from the ankle) and the pressure at the top must meet certain requirements. For sports use, the minimum pressure is also 10 mmHg, but the manufacturer decides on the pressure profile. The product passes the test provided the pressure profile is as claimed. The entire range of sizes, and the dimensions for each, are required for the measuring process.

Test methodology

7. How exactly does the compression testing process work?

HOSY consists of 20 individual tensile testing components, over which the product being tested - a sock or bandage or even perhaps a shirt - is pulled taut and then stretched to the specified extent. When the given circumference is reached, the force that was required is measured and converted into a pressure value. As well as tables showing the results, a chart showing the compression and pressure profile is also produced.

Click here for further information on the test methodology.

8. Are the pressures that are measured expressed in relation to the pressures that occur as the textiles are being worn, or can they be so expressed?

Because the HOSY device can reproduce virtually all shapes and sizes, it is very easy for the results of the measuring process to be applied to real use situations. Since we always measure all the (garment) sizes for a product, the results are always applicable to all the different sizes.

9. How long does testing take?

Because of the high international demand, testing is currently taking about 3 weeks. It is very important to us that we always maintain the same high testing standard. That is why our compression testing is all carried out by experienced staff using our HOSY (Hohenstein System) at our site in Bönnigheim (Germany).

10. What kind of fibre types are generally used in compression textiles?

In principle, any yarn can be knitted in such a way that it creates a certain compressive effect. In compression textiles, though, using elastic yarns like elastane increases this effect.

11. Are there also compression textiles made of natural fibres, and can you test these for pressure in the same way?

Yes, natural fibres are often used for medical compression textiles, but here again always in combination with elastic yarns to produce the compressive effect. They may also be used in other sectors.

12. When measuring compression and the pressure profile, do you also take account of different types of material and seam position (in the case of clothing that is not knitted in the round)? If so, how? (For example, the knees of tights).

The HOSY measurements are carried out over the complete length of the finished garment, so any differences in compression resulting from different materials or seam positions are taken into account. In practice, this means that any different pressure zones in the circumference of the garment (where such an effect occurs) cannot be measured, but the lengthways ones are very clearly identified.

13. Are there any other compression testing devices as well as the HOSY (Hohenstein System)?

Various different test systems are in use around the world. The HOSY test device developed at the Hohenstein Institute in the early 1980s established itself in the field of medical compression hosiery and is specified in the relevant standards such as RAL and DIN. On account of its unique flexibility in terms of the possible sizes, lengths and shapes, we think HOSY is the best solution for non-medical compression products, too.

Click here for further information on the HOSY.

14. Doesn't the compressive effect depend on how much the garment is ultimately stretched on the body, i.e. on the garment size and the size of the wearer's limbs?

That's quite right. One of the quality features of our compression testing is that the whole range of sizes is tested, for precisely that reason. During the testing with HOSY, they are stretched to the extent defined for each part of the body for that garment size. In this way we can ensure that the pressure complies with the same specifications across all sizes.

15. A compression hosiery product is a 3D object, but during the testing the stocking is only stretched in two dimensions.
Isn't there a mismatch there?

During measurement using the HOSY (Hohenstein System), the test piece is stretched to the extent specified for that (garment) size. The forces required for that stretching are mathematically converted so that they equate to the pressure on a three-dimensional object.

16. Do you also record movements, so that you can model the level of compression during movement?

No, we don't do that at the moment. But you could certainly, for example, measure a stocking several times using different combinations of measurements, and so create a kind of "dynamic profile" which would then be very close to what happens during movement.

17. How do you work out the pressure exerted by a test piece if you are measuring the tensile force?

We measure the force at intervals of 5 cm along the entire length of the test piece. From these values, using the Laplace formula among others, our experts can calculate the pressure that is exerted on the body in relation to the circumference. In the end, this enables them to work out the pressure profile over the complete length, at any particular point.

Travel, sport & wellness

18. Which factors affect the pressure profile of sportswear?

In general, the pressure profile depends on the garment and the material, while the compressive effect of a material depends in turn on the type of knit and the yarns that are used. The kinds of compression and pressure profile that are suitable for particular types of sport have not yet been defined, due to the lack of data from scientific studies.

19. Is there a maximum level of compression for sportswear?

So far there are no specifications for that, because the findings from scientific studies don't yet allow any conclusions to be drawn. Furthermore, the requirements could very much depend on the type of sport itself. In general, we recommend that hosiery where the compressive effect is the same as that for medical hosiery should be designed like medical hosiery in terms of its essential parameters.
Nor should the question of comfort be overlooked, both when wearing the garments and when taking them on and off – but here the customer decides whether a product is accepted or rejected.

20. Is sportswear that exerts a high pressure only suitable for a particular age group?

No. The pressure itself is, so to speak, age-neutral, it's currently more a question of personal preference – whether the athlete prefers higher or more moderate pressure.

21. Can the testing show the compressive effect on different muscle groups? Or are there different test scenarios for different parts of the body?

Of course, you can look at legs, arms etc. separately, but the principles of the test procedure are always the same. You can only look at the compressive effect on specific muscle groups if they are located along the length of the test piece, such as the calf and thigh muscles.

FAQ Kompressions-Prüfung

Für Sie zusammengefasst: die häufigsten Fragen und Antworten zum Thema Kompressionsprüfung.
Zögern Sie dennoch nicht, uns bei weiteren Fragen zu kontaktieren . Wir beantworten diese gerne!

Stand der Wissenschaft

1. Welche Studien gab es bis dato zur Wirkung von Kompressionstextilien und was waren die Ergebnisse?

Wir haben uns hier auf diese folgende 2 Studien bezogen bzw. diese Studien stellvertretend erwähnt:

  • 1. Efficacy of Compression Socks to Enhance Recovery in Distance Athletes - Sport and Art 2(2): 15-18, 2014 - DOI: 10.13189/saj.2014.020201 - Lauran Fletcher1, Scot Raab2, Sonya Sanderson1,*, Luke Vargo1 1Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education, Valdosta State University, Valdosta, 31698, GA, United States 2Department of Physical Therapy and Athletic Training, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, 86011, AZ, United States *Corresponding Author: slsanderson@valdosta.edu http://www.hrpub.org/download/20140105/SAJ1-19901529.pdf
  • 2. Grundsatzuntersuchung zur Leistungssteigerung durch Sporttextilien mit komprimierenden Eigenschaften (IGF-Nr. 16868 N).Hohenstein Institut für Textilinnovation gGmbH Schloss Hohenstein 74357 Bönnigheim – Leiter: Prof. Dr. Stefan Mecheels
    Projektleiter Martin Harnisch (m.harnisch@hohenstein.de). Das IGF-Vorhaben 16868 N der Forschungsvereinigung Forschungskuratorium Textil e.V., Reinhardstrasse 12-14, 10117 Berlin wurde über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung und –entwicklung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.

Die bisher durchgeführten Studien weisen sehr unterschiedliche Ansätze auf, sodass die Ergebnisse nur schwer oder nicht vergleichbar sind. Der allgemeine Trend der Ergebnisbeurteilung ist, dass positive Effekte nicht als signifikant nachgewiesen werden können (was nicht heißt, dass es nicht bei Einzelnen sehr wohl positive Effekte gibt). Eindeutig scheint jedoch zu sein, dass keine negativen Auswirkungen durch das Tragen der Kompressionskleidung /-strümpfe vorliegen. Ebenso deutlich scheint zu sein, dass die überwiegende Zahl der Studienteilnehmer die Wirkung der Kompression als sehr positiv empfindet.

2. Geht die Forschung bezüglich der Wirkung von Kompressionstextilien weiter?

Es ist davon auszugehen, dass weitere Studien durchgeführt werden, da die bisherigen Resultate weder Befürworter noch Kritiker richtig zufriedenstellen können.

3. Gibt es Ergebnisse zu der Frage, wie Kompression die physische Leistungsfähigkeit von Sportlern beeinflusst?

Diese Frage wird in vielen Studien behandelt. Die Testpersonen berichteten zum Teil über eine subjektiv empfundene positive Wirkung. Objektiv wurden jedoch keine signifikanten Effekte erfasst, zumindest nicht für die breite Masse der Probanden. Im Einzelfall kann das aber ganz anders aussehen.

Qualitätslabel

4. Welche Vorteile bietet mir als Hersteller das Qualitätslabel „Kompression & Druckverlauf?

Das Hohenstein Qualitätslabel bietet einen objektiven Nachweis der ausgewiesenen Kompression durch ein unabhängiges und international anerkanntes Prüfinstitut. Durch Folgeprüfungen kann die Kompression auch über einen längeren Zeitraum hin überwacht und bestätigt werden. Das Qualitätslabel sichert die Abgrenzung hin zum Wettbewerb und ermöglicht durch die einheitliche Prüfung eine objektive Vergleichbarkeit. Das Label ist auch international gültig und anerkannt sowie in verschiedenen Sprachen verfügbar.

5. Welche Vorteile bietet mir als Verbraucher oder Händler das Qualitätslabel „Kompression & Druckverlauf“?

Die Angaben auf dem Qualitätslabel werden von unabhängiger Stelle nach einheitlichen Standards ermittelt. Dabei müssen Mindestanforderungen an die Kompressionswirkung erfüllt werden. Außerdem zeigt das Qualitätslabel, welchen Kompressionsverlauf das Produkt hat, d.h. ob dieser graduell abnehmend oder zunehmend bzw. gleichbleibend ist. So ist sichergestellt, dass die Produkte für den vorgesehenen Einsatzbereich als Sport- oder Reisestrümpfe geeignet sind oder der Deklaration entsprechen.

6. Welche Voraussetzungen muss ein Produkt erfüllen, um das Qualitätslabel „Kompression & Druckverlauf“ zu erhalten?

Dies hängt unter anderem davon ab, ob das zu prüfende Textil aus dem Bereich Sport oder Reise kommt. Bei Reisestrümpfen ist ein Minimaldruck von 10mmHg vorgegeben, der Druckverlauf muss abnehmend sein (von der Fessel aufwärts), außerdem muss der Druck am Bündchen bestimmten Vorgaben genügen. Im Bereich Sport beträgt der Minimaldruck ebenfalls 10mmHg, der Druckverlauf wird durch den Hersteller vorgegeben. Entspricht der Druckverlauf dem angegebenen, ist die Prüfung bestanden. Für die Messungen wird das gesamte Größensystem mit den jeweiligen Maßen benötigt.

Prüfmethodik

7. Wie genau läuft das Kompressionsprüfverfahren ab?

Das HOSY besteht aus 20 nebeneinanderliegenden Zugprüfeinrichtungen, in welche das zu prüfende Stück – Strumpf, Bandage oder auch z.B. Shirt – eingespannt und bis zum angegebenen Umfang gedehnt wird. Bei Erreichend des Umfanges werden die dazu benötigten Kräfte gemessen und in Druckwerte umgerechnet. Neben Ergebnistabellen gibt es zusätzlich auch eine grafische Darstellung von Kompression und Druckverlauf.

Weitere Informationen zum Prüfverfahren finden Sie hier .

8. Können oder werden die gemessenen Drücke in Beziehung gesetzt zu den Drücken, die beim Tragen der Textilien entstehen?

Dadurch, dass mit dem HOSY-Messgerät nahezu alle Größen und Formen abgebildet werden können, können auch die Messergebnisse sehr gut auf reale Tragesituationen übertragen werden. Da immer alle (Konfektions-) Größen eines Produktes gemessen werden, sind die Messergebnisse auch immer auf die unterschiedlichen Konfektionsgrößen übertragbar.

9. Wie lange benötigen Sie für einen Prüfablauf?

Aufgrund der hohen internationalen Nachfrage dauert ein Prüfdurchlauf derzeit ca. 3 Wochen. Es ist uns sehr wichtig, ein durchgängig hohes Prüfniveau sicherzustellen. Deshalb werden unsere Kompressionsprüfungen ausschließlich von erfahrenen Mitarbeitern mit unserem HOSY (Hohenstein System) am Standort in Bönnigheim (Deutschland) durchgeführt.

10. Welche Faserarten werden bei Kompressionstextilien im Allgemeinen verwendet?

Grundsätzlich können alle Garne so verstrickt werden, dass eine gewisse Kompressionswirkung entsteht. Bei Kompressionstextilien sorgt aber der Einsatz von elastischen Garnen wie z.B. Elastan für die Verstärkung dieses Effektes.

11. Gibt es auch Kompressionstextilien mit Naturfasern und können Sie diese ebenfalls auf Druck prüfen?

Ja, im Bereich der medizinischen Kompressionstextilien werden Naturfasern eingesetzt. Aber auch hier immer in Kombination mit elastischen Garnen, die dann für die Kompressionswirkung sorgen. Dies ist auch für andere Bereiche möglich.

12. Werden bei der Messung der Kompression und des Druckverlaufes auch unterschiedliche Materialarten und Nahtverläufe
(im Bereich von Bekleidung, die nicht rundgestrickt ist) berücksichtigt? Wenn ja, wie? (z.B. im Kniebereich bei Tights)

Die Messungen mit dem HOSY werden am konfektionierten Kleidungsstück über dessen gesamte Länge durchgeführt. Aus unterschiedlichen Materialien und Nahtführungen resultierende Unterschiede der Kompression werden so in Summe erfasst. Das bedeutet in der Praxis, dass unterschiedliche Druckzonen im Umfang nicht abgebildet werden können (sofern dieser Effekt überhaupt existiert), über die Länge aber sehr wohl.

13. Gibt es neben dem HOSY (Hohenstein System) auch andere Kompressionsprüfgeräte?

International sind verschiedene Prüfsysteme im Einsatz. Das Anfang 1980er Jahren an den Hohenstein Instituten entwickelte HOSY-Messgerät hat sich im Bereich der medizinischen Kompressionsstrümpfe durchgesetzt und wird in den entsprechenden Standards und Normen wie RAL und DIN vorgegeben. Aufgrund seiner beispiellosen Flexibilität hinsichtlich der möglichen Größen, Längen und Formen halten wir das HOSY auch im Bereich der nicht-medizinischen Kompressionsprodukte für die beste Lösung.

Weitere Informationen zum HOSY finden Sie hier .

14. Hängt die Kompression nicht davon ab, wie sehr das Teil im Endeffekt am Körper gedehnt wird, also von der
Konfektionsgröße und der Größe der Gliedmaßen?

Das ist vollkommen richtig. Ein Qualitätsaspekt unserer Kompressionsprüfungen ist, dass genau aus diesem Grund die kompletten Größensätze geprüft werden. Bei der Messung im HOSY werden diese bis zu dem von der (Konfektions-)Größe für den jeweiligen Körperteil definierten Umfang gedehnt. Damit stellen wir sicher, dass die Drücke über alle (Konfektions-) Größen hinweg den gleichen Vorgaben entsprechen.

15. Kompressionsstrümpfe bilden einen 3D Körper, beim Prüfen wird der Strumpf jedoch zweidimensional gedehnt.
Wie passt das zusammen?

Bei der Messung mit dem HOSY (Hohenstein System) wird das Prüfstück auf den der (Konfektions-) Größe vorgegebenen Umfang gedehnt. Die ermittelten Zugkräfte, die für die Dehnung notwendig sind, werden mathematisch so umgerechnet, dass sie dem Druck auf den dreidimensionalen Körper entsprechen.

16. Führen Sie auch Bewegungserfassungen durch, um das Kompressionsausmaß bei Bewegung zu modellieren?

Nein, das ist derzeit nicht der Fall. Man könnte aber durchaus bspw. einen Strumpf mehrmals bei verschiedenen Maßkombinationen messen und damit eine Art „dynamisches Profil“ erstellen, welches dann dem im Fall der Bewegung sehr nahe käme.

17. Wie erhalten Sie den Druck eines Prüfstücks wenn Sie die Zugkraft messen?

Wir ermitteln über die gesamte Länge des Prüfstücks in Abschnitten von 5 cm jeweils die Zugkraft. Aus diesen Werten berechnen unsere Experten unter anderem mithilfe der LaPlace-Formel den Druck, der auf den Umfang bezogen auf den Körper wirkt. Damit lässt sich schlussendlich der Druckverlauf über die gesamte Länge bei jeder beliebigen Position darstellen.

Reise, Sport & Wellness

18. Von welchen Faktoren hängt das Druckprofil von Sportkleidung ab?

Generell ist der Druckverlauf abhängig von Konfektion und dem Material wobei die Kompressionswirkung eines Materials sich wiederum aus der Strickart und Art der eingesetzten Garne ableitet. Welche Kompression und welcher Druckverlauf für verschiedene Sportarten Sinn macht, ist aufgrund der mangelnden Faktenlage aus wissenschaftlichen Studien noch nicht definiert.

19. Gibt es für Sportkleidung ein maximales Kompressionslevel?

Bislang gibt es dafür keine Vorgaben, da die Ergebnisse wissenschaftlicher Studien dahingehend noch keine Rückschlüsse zulassen. Hinzu kommt, dass die Anforderungen auch stark von der Sportart selbst abhängig sein können. Wir empfehlen allerdings meist, dass Strümpfe, deren Druck so hoch ist wie der von medizinischen Strümpfen, in grundlegenden Punkten auch wie medizinische Strümpfe konzipiert werden sollten.
Nicht zu vergessen ist auch die Komfortfrage, die sich sowohl beim Tragen wie auch beim An- und Ausziehen der Kleidungsstücke stellt – aber hier entscheidet der Kunde über Akzeptanz oder Ablehnung.

20. Ist Sportkleidung mit hohem Druck nur für eine bestimmte Altersgruppe geeignet?

Nein. Der Druck selbst ist sozusagen alterslos, es ist derzeit eher eine Frage der persönlichen Präferenz – bevorzugt der Sportler lieber einen hohen oder lieber einen moderaten Druck.

21. Kann mit der Prüfung die Kompressionswirkung auf verschiedene Muskelgruppen abgebildet werden? Oder gibt es verschiedene Prüfszenarien für verschiedene Körperteile?

Natürlich kann man Beine, Arme usw. separat betrachten. Hierzu ist das Prinzip des Prüfverfahrens immer dasselbe. Die Betrachtung der Kompressionswirkung auf einzelne Muskelgruppen ist nur dann möglich, wenn diese sich längs des Prüflings befinden wie z.B. Waden- und Oberschenkelmuskeln.