Sleep comfort

As with clothing, the physiological comfort of bedding such as blankets, pillows, mattresses, sleeping bags, as well as vehicle seats, office chairs and other seating furniture can be objectively tested and subsequently optimised in the laboratory.

Since 1946, a variety of measuring methods have been developed at the Hohenstein Institute which can be used to objectively determine and assess the physiological sleep and seat comfort of bedding, mattresses, sleeping bags, vehicle seats, office chairs and upholstered furniture. The same applies to the Wear comfort of all types of clothing.

Using the thermal manikins "Charlie" and "Charlene" or the Hohenstein skin model, we determine more than just measurement results. Based on our long-standing experience in the field of clothing physiology we also interpret the numerical data for you. Our prediction models simulate the heat and moisture management of your product under a wide range of environmental conditions. As we are able to dispense with wear tests on humans to a large extent, we are able to supply you with the results rapidly and cost-effectively.

The same applies to the skin-sensory assessment of textile products. We can assess the sensation of the textile against the skin for the user or wearer in terms of both quality and quantity by means of various laboratory tests and we can assist you in optimising this important quality feature.

Whether you wish to determine the temperature range in which sleeping bags can be used according to DIN EN 13537 and DIN EN 13538 or require a competent evaluation of the sleep comfort of bedding for adults of children, or want to optimise the physiological comfort of vehicle or airplane seats - our experts are always on hand to offer you expert advice.

Schlafkomfort

Ähnlich wie bei Bekleidung lässt sich auch der physiologische Komfort von Bettwaren wie Decken, Kissen, Matratzen, Schlafsäcken aber auch Fahrzeugsitzen, Bürostühlen oder sonstigen Sitzmöbeln objektiv im Labor untersuchen und in der Folge optimieren.

An den Hohenstein Instituten wurde seit 1946 eine Vielzahl von Messmethoden entwickelt, mit denen sich der physiologische Schlaf- bzw. Sitz-Komfort von Bettwaren, Matratzen, Schlafsäcken, Fahrzeugsitzen, Bürostühlen und Polstermöbeln objektiv ermitteln und bewerten lässt. Gleiches gilt für den Trage-Komfort von Bekleidung aller Art.

Mit Hilfe der thermischen Gliederpuppen „Charlie“ und „Charlene“ oder dem Hohenstein Hautmodell ermitteln wir aber nicht alleine Messergebnisse. Auf Basis unserer jahrzehntelangen Erfahrung im Bereich der Bekleidungsphysiologie interpretieren wir das Zahlenmaterial für Sie. Unsere Vorhersagemodelle bilden das Wärme- und Feuchtemanagement Ihres Produktes unter den verschiedensten Umgebungsbedingungen ab. Da wir dabei weitgehend auf Trageversuche mit Menschen verzichten können, liefern wir Ihnen die Ergebnisse schnell und kostengünstig.

Gleiches gilt für die hautsensorische Beurteilung textiler Produkte. Welches Empfinden diese beim Nutzer oder Träger auf der Haut verursachen, können wir anhand verschiedener Laboruntersuchungen quantitativ beurteilen und Sie bei der Optimierung dieses wichtigen Qualitätsmerkmals unterstützen.

Ob Sie also den thermischen Verwendungsbereich von Schlafsäcken nach DIN EN 13537 und DIN EN 13538 ermitteln möchten, eine kompetente Beurteilung des Schlafkomforts von Bettwaren für Erwachsene oder Kinder benötigen oder aber den physiologischen Komfort von Fahrzeug- oder Flugzeugsitzen optimieren lassen wollen – unsere Experten stehen Ihnen immer mit kompetentem Rat zur Seite.