Medicine and hygiene

Innovative research work in an interdisciplinary team of medical experts, biologists, chemists and textile scientists, an extensive range of testing and certification schemes together with personalised advisory services for companies from all sectors - these are among the core competences of the Hohenstein Institute in the fields of applied hygiene and medical solutions.

For example, we can offer you all-round hygiene management services including testing the microbiological quality of water, food or complete environments, monitoring the bacterial contamination of surfaces, producing complete hygiene plans and evaluating the hygiene effectiveness of domestic washing processes. In the field of textile hygiene, we can check the barrier effect of medical textiles and personal protection equipment, the microbiological bacterial contamination of feather/down and washing products and the effectiveness of disinfectant washing processes. For biofunctional textiles, we can provide you with verification of the antibacterial, antifungicidal or antiviral effect of treatments or textile constructions. The product features which we can test also include the effectiveness of textiles with regard to insect-repellent properties and questions relating to skin penetration by substances in textile depot structures. We also test the effectiveness of textiles with regard to physiological and pathogenic biomarkers such as their potential for causing allergies or stress.

For healthcare services, we develop and optimise new products and procedures which will enable the more effective treatment, diagnosis and prevention of illnesses in the future. An important focus for our work is wound treatment using dressings dosed with active substances, or biotherapeutic medical textiles, along with innovative technologies nad materials for regenerative medicine (textile implants). Our meaningful evaluation systems, which do not depend on animal testing, for assessing the potential of textiles to cause allergy or irritation will enable you to tailor the manufacture of your products to achieve maximum skin compatibility. Textile-based diagnostic systems, textile products for individualised patient support (e.g. by improved heat management in the operating theatre or by preventing bed sores) anbd reusable operating theatre gowns with the best possible barrier effect that are comfortable to wear are other areas in which we are contributing to progress in healthcare provision.

Further information:

Medizin und Hygiene

Innovative Forschungsarbeit in einem interdisziplinären Team aus Medizinern, Biologen, Chemikern und Textilwissenschaftlern, ein umfassendes Angebot an Prüfungen und Zertifizierungen sowie individuelle Beratungsleistungen für Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen gehören zu den Kernkompetenzen der Hohenstein Institute in den Bereichen angewandte Hygiene und medizinische Lösungen.

Wir bieten Ihnen beispielsweise ein umfangreiches Hygiene-Management mit Überprüfungen der mikrobiologischen Qualität von Wasser, Lebensmitteln oder ganzen Umgebungen, aber auch die Kontrolle der Keimbelastung von Oberflächen oder der kompletten Erstellung von Hygieneplänen bis hin zur Bewertung der hygienischen Effektivität von Haushaltswaschverfahren. Im Bereich der Textilhygiene überprüfen wir für Sie die Barrierewirkung von Medizin-Textilien und persönlicher Schutzausrüstung, die mikrobiologische Keimbelastung von Federn/Daunen und Wäscheprodukten oder die Wirkung desinfizierender Waschverfahren. Bei biofunktionalen Textilien können wir für Sie den Nachweis einer antibakteriellen, antifungiziden oder antiviralen Wirkung von Ausrüstungen oder Textilkonstruktionen erbringen. Zu den überprüfbaren Produktmerkmalen zählen weiterhin die Wirksamkeit von Textilien im Insektenschutz sowie Fragen zur Hautpenetration von Substanzen aus textilen Depotstrukturen. Darüber hinaus überprüfen wir die Wirkung von Textilien auf physiologische und pathogene Biomarker wie z.B. Allergie- und Stresspotenziale.

Für das Gesundheitswesen entwickeln und optimieren wir neuartige Produkte und Verfahren, die künftig eine effektivere Therapie, Diagnose und Prävention von Krankheiten ermöglichen. Ein Arbeitsschwerpunkt bildet dabei die Behandlung von Wunden mittels Wirkstoff dotierter Wundauflagen oder biotherapeutischer Medizintextilien, aber auch innovative Technologien und Materialien für die regenerative Medizin (Textilimplantate). Aussagefähige und tierversuchsfreie Bewertungssysteme für die Bestimmung des Allergie- und Irritationspotenzials von Textilien ermöglichen Ihnen eine maßgeschneiderte Optimierung Ihrer Produkte im Hinblick auf die Hautverträglichkeit. Textilbasierte Diagnosesysteme, Textilprodukte zur gezielten Patientenunterstützung (z. B. durch ein verbessertes Wärme-Management im OP oder zur Dekubitus-Prophylaxe) sowie Mehrweg-OP-Bekleidung mit optimaler Barrierewirkung und gutem Tragekomfort sind weitere Arbeitsfelder, durch die wir zu einer fortschrittlichen Gesundheitsversorgung beitragen.

Weiterführende Informationen: