Homes and construction

Textiles for commercial and residential use and in civil and structural engineering have to perform specific functions and meet minimum quality standards . In its research work the Hohenstein Institute develops and optimises textiles for technical applications – for example with regard to adaptive heat insulation systems for innovative facade construction.

We can also offer you numerous test and certification services for all-round quality assessment and endorsement of your products. Equally important for manufacturers and (public) procurement organisations is the testing of upholstery materials for compliance with the properties required by EN 14465. We test carpets, for example for resistance to mould and abrasion, for their pilling behaviour and dimensional stability. Our testing for harmful substances in accordance with OEKO-TEX® Standard 100 ensures that fittings for homes and offices are free of substances that are harmful to health, or which could contaminate the air.

We have a specially developed test system to define the sound and noise absorption of textile materials, composites and applications/coatings, so that domestic and commercial textiles can be tested for specific frequencies or whole frequency bands. With regard to effective hygiene in factories and service companies we can carry out not only general consultancy work for you but also microbiological tests on surfaces, water and the environment.

Further information:

Haus und Bau

Textilien für den Wohn- und Objektbereich sowie für den Hoch- und Tiefbau müssen spezifische Funktionen erfüllen und qualitativen Mindestanforderungen genügen. Im Rahmen ihrer Forschungsaktivitäten beschäftigen sich die Hohenstein Institute mit der Entwicklung und Optimierung von Textilien für technische Anwendungsbereiche – beispielsweise im Hinblick auf adaptive Wärmedämmungssysteme für einen innovativen Fassadenbau.

Darüber hinaus bieten wir Ihnen zahlreiche Prüfungs - und Zertifizierungsleistungen für eine umfassende Qualitätsbeurteilung und Auslobung Ihrer Produkte an. Für Hersteller und (öffentliche) Beschaffer gleichermaßen wichtig ist etwa die Überprüfung von Möbelbezugsstoffen auf die Einhaltung der gemäß EN 14465 geforderten Gebrauchseigenschaften. Teppichböden testen wir z. B. auf Schimmelpilz-Beständigkeit sowie im Hinblick auf die Scheuer-Eigenschaften, das Pilling-Verhalten oder ihre Dimensionsstabilität. Unsere Schadstoffprüfungen nach OEKO-TEX® Standard 100 gewährleisten, dass Ausstattungsmaterialien für Wohn- und Büroräume frei von gesundheitsschädlichen Substanzen sind, welche die Raumluft belasten können.

Bei Heim- und Objekttextilien können wir für einzelne Frequenzen sowie für gesamte Frequenz-Bänder mit einem speziell entwickelten Testsystem die Schall- bzw. Geräuschabsorption von textilen Materialien sowie Verbundmaterialien und Applikationen/Beschichtungen bestimmen. Im Hinblick auf eine effektive Hygiene in Betrieben und Dienstleistungsunternehmen führen wir für Sie neben einer allgemeinen Beratung auch mikrobiologische Untersuchungen an Oberflächen, Wasser und Umgebungen durch.

Weiterführende Informationen: