Guidance on REACH

Since the REACH regulation came into force on 1 June 2007, the handling of chemicals within the European Union has been placed on an entirely new basis. The registration, evaluation and authorisation of chemical substances by a central European chemicals agency (ECHA) is intended to improve the protection of health and the environment.

Under current REACH guidelines, all textile and clothing companies within the EU have a direct duty of information towards customers and end consumers as well as a duty of notification to the ECHA, if the products manufactured or imported contain so-called SVHC substances included on the candidate list ("substances of very high concern") in a quantity of over 0.1 mass percent and the total volume of one tonne per year is exceeded.

Our experts are happy to answer all your questions about the conformity of your products with the applicable REACH criteria.

In this context we would also like to draw your attention to the fact that product certification according to OEKO-TEX® Standard 100 covers all textile-relevant substances on the ECHA candidate list relating to substances of very high concern. Moreover, every OEKO-TEX® certificate confirms that the certified products conform with the applicable requirements of Annex XVII of the REACH regulation relating to limited substances such as azo dyestuffs or nickel.

Hilfestellung zum Thema REACH

Mit In-Kraft-Treten der REACH-Verordnung am 1. Juni 2007 wurde der Umgang mit Chemikalien innerhalb der Europäischen Union auf eine neue Grundlage gestellt. Durch die Registrierung, Bewertung und Zulassung von chemischen Substanzen bei einer zentralen Chemikalienagentur (ECHA) soll der Schutz von Umwelt und Gesundheit verbessert werden.

Gemäß den aktuellen REACH-Vorgaben besteht für alle Textil- und Bekleidungsunternehmen innerhalb der EU eine unmittelbare Informationspflicht gegenüber Kunden und dem Endverbraucher sowie eine Mitteilungspflicht gegenüber der ECHA, wenn die produzierten bzw. importierten Waren sog. SVHC-Stoffe der Kandidatenliste ("substances of very high concern") in einer Menge von mehr als 0,1 Massenprozent enthalten und die Gesamtmenge von einer Tonne pro Jahr überschritten wird.

Unsere Experten unterstützen Sie gerne bei allen Fragen, die Sie im Hinblick auf die Konformität Ihrer Produkte mit den geltenden REACH-Kriterien haben.

In diesem Zusammenhang möchten wir Sie zudem ausdrücklich darauf hinweisen, dass eine Produktzertifizierung nach OEKO-TEX® Standard 100 alle textilrelevanten Substanzen der ECHA-Kandidatenliste mit besonders besorgniserregenden Stoffen abdeckt. Darüber hinaus wird auf jedem OEKO-TEX® Zertifikat bestätigt, dass die zertifizierten Artikel die geltenden Anforderungen des Anhangs XVII der REACH-Verordnung bezüglich beschränkter Substanzen wie Azo-Farbstoffen oder Nickel erfüllen.