LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX®

The LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® is a worldwide consistent, independent testing and certification system for leather and leather articles of all levels of production. Examples of articles that can be certified are: semifinished leather products (e.g. Wet-blue, Wet-white, Crust etc.), finished leather, leather fiber material, ready made articles (garments of all types, accessories, leather gloves, leather handbags, leather covers and much more).

Objective:

  • Production of all types of leather products which are safe from a human-ecological point of view.
  • Facilitate and accelerate delivery relationships for manufacturers and retailers wishing to offer their customers product safety.
  • Reliable product labelling for consumers who place great emphasis on leather articles that are safe and harmless to health.
  • Legal conformity for importers, retailers, and manufacturers.

This service has been developed for:

  • Manufacturers of leather materials and leather articles along the entire supply chain
  • Brands / Retailer
  • Traders of leather products
  • Sourcing offices

Benefits

  • The independent assessment and verification by our institute represents a very strong, confidence-building measure for a company‘s materials and products.
  • The human-ecological criteria catalogue, which has a scientific basis, is uniform around the world and is thus applicable everywhere on the same terms. The criteria and limit values are continually further developed and, in any case, at least once each year.
  • Identification and avoidance of chemicals that are harmful to health in the product in accordance with the LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® criteria catalogue by means of comprehensive and high quality product tests.
  • Modular certification system (avoids duplicate tests on unchanged products).
  • Testing of representative samples in the laboratory by our institute.
  • Participation in the OEKO-TEX® system which has taken a lead role for many years with its concept.
  • It forms the basis for many Restricted Substance Lists (RSLs) for retail chains, discounters, producers etc. and thus the basis for many delivery conditions.
  • Product monitoring by means of regular control tests on the market and through on-site company inspections by our independent auditors.
  • As a manufacturer-independent label, the LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® is a helpful marketing tool which can clearly document your responsibility with regard to the human-ecological product safety of your articles to your customers along the supply chain through to brands, retailers and consumers.
  • All companies that have their products or materials certified in accordance with the LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® have the opportunity to present their company and product portfolio free of charge in the OEKO-TEX® online directory (“Buying Guide”) under www.oeko-tex.com/products. With an average of around 5,000 website visits per day and visitors from more than 200 countries around the world, the OEKO-TEX® website is an ideal advertising platform that attracts international attention and is also a very good sourcing platform.
  • You can enter the data for your company presentation in the OEKO-TEX® Buying Guide by yourself in the Self-Service Portal under www.oeko-tex.com/customers. We will be pleased to send you the access details upon request.
  • More than 10,000 companies and manufacturers already trust the OEKO-TEX® system and label.

Criteria:

The central focus of the LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® has been the development of test criteria, limit values and test methods on a scientific basis. On the basis of its comprehensive and strict catalogue of measures for harmful substances, with several hundred regulated individual substances, the LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® takes account of:

  • Important legal regulations, such as banned azo colourants, chromium(VI), formaldehyde, pentachlorophenol, cadmium, nickel release, PFOS etc.
  • Numerous harmful chemicals, even if they are not yet legally regulated.
  • Requirements of Annexes XVII and XIV of the European Chemicals Regulation REACh as well as of the ECHA SVHC Candidate List insofar as they are assessed by expert groups of the OEKO-TEX® Association to be relevant for leather materials and leather articles/products. Discussions and developments that are considered to be relevant are taken into account as quickly and effectively as possible through updates to the LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® requirements.
  • Requirements from the US Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act (CPSIA) regarding lead.
  • Numerous also environmentally relevant substance classes.

The LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® therefore contributes to high and effective product safety from a consumer’s point of view. Test criteria and limit values in many cases go far beyond applicable national and international standards.

Laboratory tests and product classes

The LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® tests for harmful substances are fundamentally based on the respective purpose of the leather materials respectively leather articles/products. The more intensive the skin contact of a product and the more sensitive the skin, the stricter the human-ecological requirements that need to be complied with.

Accordingly, a distinction is made between four product classes:

  • Product class I:
    Products for babies and toddlers up to 3 years age (leather clothing, leather gloves, crawling sheepskin, fur etc.)
  • Product class II:
    Products that are worn close to the skin (leather trousers/-jackets, leather underwear etc.)
  • Product class III:
    Products used away from the skin (lined leather jackets/overcoats, leather handbags, leather belts etc.)
  • Product class IV:
    Decoration/Furnishing materials (upholstery leather covers etc.)

Certificate

Pre-requisites

The precondition for the certification of leather materials and leather articles/products in accordance with LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® is that all parts of an article meet the required criteria – in addition to the leather, for example, also textile fabrics, sewing threads, inserts, prints, labels etc., as well as non-textile accessories, such as buttons, zip fasteners, rivets etc.

For the leather materials the conditions and criteria of the latest valid LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® are applied, for non-leather components contained (e.g. textile materials, metallic accessories etc.) the requirements of the latest valid STANDARD 100 by OEKO-TEX® have to be fulfilled.

Information about the certificate

  • The validity period of an issued certificate is limited to a maximum of one year.
  • The LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® certificate describes the certified products (article group) and clearly lists the product class achieved.
  • Three months before the validity period for the usage of the LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® label expires, the certificate holder can apply for a certificate prolongation for a further year.

Quality assurance measures and aspects

Declaration of conformity

With the signed declaration of conformity, the applicant/certificate holder agrees that the OEKO-TEX® Association and the mandated OEKO-TEX® Institute may carry out control tests on products certified according to the LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® during the validity period of the certificate to check compliance with the conditions and criteria required.

Company audits

To specifically support and optimize operational quality assurance within the companies participating in the OEKO-TEX® system around the world, we will carry out an audit on-site with the applicant companies as an obligatory component of certification. Company monitoring takes place shortly before the time, or soon thereafter, when the certificate is issued and is repeated at least every three years.

Control tests

The OEKO-TEX® Association carries out control tests of certified products every year for at least 25% of all certificates issued. For this purpose articles with the OEKO-TEX® label that are available in retail outlets and sample materials from the companies are tested. In addition, independent auditors also carry out random checks within the scope of unannounced company visits to companies with the OEKO-TEX® certificate.

Contact person

Sales
Hohenstein
Phone:
+49 7143 271-898
Fax:
+49 7143 271-94898

LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX®

Der LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® ist ein weltweit einheitliches, unabhängiges Prüf- und Zertifizierungssystem für Leder sowie für Lederartikel aller Produktionsstufen. Beispiele für zertifizierbare Artikel sind: Lederhalbfabrikate (z.B. Wet-blue, Wet-white, Crust, etc.), Fertigleder, Lederfaserwerkstoffe, konfektionierte Artikel (Bekleidung aller Art, Accessories, Lederhandschuhe, Ledertaschen, Lederbezüge u.v.m.).

Ziel:

  • Herstellung humanökologisch unbedenklicher Lederprodukte aller Art.
  • Erleichterung und Beschleunigung der Lieferbeziehungen für Hersteller und Händler, die ihren Kunden Produktsicherheit bieten möchten.
  • Eine verlässliche Produktauszeichnung für Verbraucher, die bewusst auf gesundheitlich unbedenkliche und sichere Lederartikel achten.
  • Rechtliche Konformität für Importeure, Händler und Hersteller

Dieser Service wurde entwickelt für:

  • Hersteller von Ledermaterialien und Lederartikeln aus der gesamten Lieferkette.
  • Brands und Retailer/Händler von Lederprodukten
  • Beschaffungsbüros

Vorteile:

  • Die unabhängige Bewertung und Verifizierung durch unser unabhängiges, akkreditiertes Institut stellt eine sehr starke, vertrauensbildende Maßnahme für Ihre Materialien und Produkte dar.
  • Der auf wissenschaftlicher Basis entwickelte, humanökologische Kriterienkatalog ist weltweit einheitlich und somit überall gleichermaßen anwendbar. Die Kriterien und Grenzwerte werden kontinuierlich, und mindestens einmal jährlich, weiterentwickelt.
  • Erkennung und Vermeidung gesundheitsschädlicher Chemikalien entsprechend dem LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® Kriterienkatalog im Produkt durch umfassende und qualitativ hochwertige Produkttests.
  • Modulares Zertifizierungssystem (Doppelprüfungen werden an nicht veränderten Produkten vermieden).
  • Prüfung von repräsentativen Mustern im Labor durch unser Institut.
  • Teilnahme am OEKO-TEX® System, welches mit seinem Konzept seit vielen Jahren eine Vorreiterrolle einnimmt.
  • Basis für viele Restricted Substances Listen (RSLs) von Handelsketten, Discountern, Produzenten etc. und damit die Grundlage für viele Lieferbedingungen.
  • Produkt Monitoring mittels regelmäßiger Kontrolltests auf dem Markt und mittels Vorort-Firmeninspektionen durch unsere unabhängige Auditoren.
  • Als herstellerunabhängiges Label ist der LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® ein hilfreiches Marketing-Tool, um gegenüber Ihren Kunden entlang der Lieferkette bis hin zu Marken, Einzelhändlern und dem Verbraucher transparent Ihre Verantwortung im Hinblick auf die humanökologische Produktsicherheit Ihrer Artikel dokumentieren zu können. Alle Firmen, die ihre Produkte oder Materialien nach dem LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® zertifizieren lassen, haben die Möglichkeit, ihr Unternehmen und ihr Produktportfolio kostenlos im OEKO-TEX® Online-Verzeichnis („Einkaufsführer“) unter www.oeko-tex.com/produkte zu präsentieren. Mit durchschnittlich rund 5.000 Seitenansichten pro Tag und Besuchern aus weltweit mehr als 200 Ländern ist die OEKO-TEX® Website eine ideale Werbe-Plattform mit internationaler Aufmerksamkeit sowie auch eine sehr gute Sourcing Plattform.
  • Die Daten für Ihre Firmenpräsentation im OEKO-TEX® Einkaufsführer können Sie selbst jederzeit im Self-Service Portal unter www.oeko-tex.com/kunden eingeben. Die Zugangsdaten schicken wir Ihnen auf Anfrage gerne zu.
  • Mehr als 10.000 Firmen und Hersteller vertrauen bereits dem OEKO-TEX® System und Zeichen.

Kriterien:

Zentraler Anspruch des LEATHER STANDARDS by OEKO-TEX® ist die Entwicklung von Prüfkriterien, Grenzwerten und Testmethoden auf wissenschaftlicher Basis. Auf Grundlage seines umfangreichen und strengen Maßnahmenkatalogs für Schadstoffe mit mehreren hundert reglementierten Einzelsubstanzen berücksichtigt der LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX®:

  • Wichtige gesetzliche Reglementierungen wie verbotene Azo-Farbmittel, Chrom(VI), Formaldehyd, Pentachlorphenol, Cadmium, Nickellässigkeit, PFOS etc.
  • Zahlreiche gesundheitsbedenkliche Chemikalien, auch wenn sie noch nicht gesetzlich reglementiert sind.
  • Anforderungen der Anhänge XVII und XIV der Europäischen Chemikalienverordnung REACh sowie der ECHA SVHC-Kandidatenliste, soweit sie nach Einschätzung von Expertengruppen der OEKO-TEX® Gemeinschaft relevant für Ledermaterialien und Lederartikel/-produkte sind. Als relevant eingestufte Diskussionen und Entwicklungen werden bei Updates der LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® Anforderungen so bald und so effektiv wie möglich berücksichtigt.
  • Forderungen des US-amerikanischen Consumer Product Safety Improvement Acts (CPSIA) zu Blei.
  • Zahlreiche auch umweltrelevante Substanzklassen.

Der LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® trägt damit aus Verbrauchersicht zu einer hohen und effektiven Produktsicherheit bei. Prüfkriterien und Grenzwerte gehen dabei vielfach deutlich über nationel und international geltende Vorgaben hinaus.

Labortests und Produktklassen

Die LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® Schadstoffprüfungen richten sich grundsätzlich nach dem jeweiligen Verwendungszweck der Ledermaterialien bzw. Lederartikel/-produkte. Je intensiver der Hautkontakt eines Produkts und je empfindlicher die Haut, desto strengere humanökologische Anforderungen müssen eingehalten werden.

Entsprechend werden vier Produktklassen unterschieden:

  • Produktklasse I:
    Produkte für Babys und Kleinkinder bis zu 3 Jahren (Lederbekleidung, Lederhandschuhe, Schaffell-Krabbeldecken, Pelze etc.)
  • Produktklasse II:
    Hautnah verwendete Produkte (Lederhosen/-jacken, Lederunterwäsche etc.)
  • Produktklasse III:
    Hautfern verwendete Produkte (gefütterte Lederjacken/-mäntel, Ledertaschen, Ledergürtel etc.)
  • Produktklasse IV:
    Ausstattungsmaterialien (Polstermöbelbezüge etc.)

Zertifikat:

Voraussetzungen

Voraussetzung für die Zertifizierung von Ledermaterialien und Lederartikeln/-produkten nach dem LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® ist, dass sämtliche Bestandteile eines Artikels den geforderten Kriterien entsprechen – neben dem Leder also beispielsweise auch textile Flächengebilde, Nähgare, Einlagen, Drucke, Etiketten etc. sowie nicht-textiles Zubehör wie Knöpfe, Reißverschlüsse, Nieten usw.

Für die Ledermaterialien werden die Bedingungen und Kriterien des aktuell gültigen LEATHER STANDARDS by OEKO-TEX® herangezogen, für enthaltene Nicht-Lederbestandteile (z.B. textile Materialien, metallische Accessoires, etc.) werden die Bedingungen und Kriterien des aktuell gültigen STANDARDS 100 by OEKO-TEX® angewendet.

Informationen zum Zertifikat

  • Die Gültigkeit eines ausgestellten Zertifikates ist längstens auf ein Jahr befristet.
  • Das LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® Zertifikat beschreibt die zertifizierten Produkte (Artikelgruppe) und führt die erzielte Produktklasse eindeutig an.
  • Bei Ablauf der Berechtigungsdauer für die Verwendung der LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® Kennzeichnung kann der Zertifikatsinhaber eine Verlängerung für das Zertifikat um jeweils ein weiteres Jahr beantragen.

Qualitätssichernde Maßnahmen und Aspekte

Konformitätserklärung

Mit der unterzeichneten Konformitätserklärung erklärt sich der Antragsteller/Zertifikatsinhaber damit einverstanden, dass die OEKO-TEX® Gemeinschaft und wir als beauftragtes OEKO-TEX® Institut während der Laufzeit des Zertifikates Kontrollprüfungen an gemäß dem LEATHER STANDARD by OEKO-TEX® zertifizierten Produkten durchführen dürfen, um die Einhaltung der geforderten Bedingungen und Kriterien zu kontrollieren.

Firmen-Audits

Um die betriebliche Qualitätssicherung der weltweit am OEKO-TEX® System beteiligten Unternehmen gezielt zu unterstützen und zu optimieren, führen wir als obligatorischen Bestandteil der Zertifizierung ein Audit beim antragstellenden Unternehmen Vorort durch. Das Firmen-Monitoring findet zeitnah vor oder kurz nach der Zertifikatsausstellung statt und wird mindestens alle drei Jahre wiederholt.

Kontrollprüfungen

Die OEKO-TEX® Gemeinschaft führt jährlich Kontrollprüfungen an zertifizierten Produkten in einem Umfang von mindestens 25 % aller ausgestellten Zertifikate durch. Überprüft werden im Handel erhältliche Artikel mit OEKO-TEX® Label sowie Mustermaterialien aus den Betrieben. Unabhängige Auditoren nehmen darüber hinaus im Rahmen unangemeldeter Betriebsbesuche Stichprobenkontrollen in Betrieben mit OEKO-TEX® Zertifikat vor.

Ansprechpartner

Sales
Hohenstein
Telefon:
+49 7143 271-898
Fax:
+49 7143 271-94898