Four institutes under one roof

The Hohenstein Institute was founded in 1946 as an independent and privately owned research and teaching centre for the textile and clothing industry and for commercial textile care companies. Today, the test and research centre is still managed as a family company, run in the third generation by Prof. Dr. Stefan Mecheels. Some further buildings have been added to the castle to accommodate around 500 employees at the headquarters in Bönnigheim/Germany.

The Hohenstein Institute unites four independent organisations working on behalf of customers:

The Hohenstein Textile Testing Institute GmbH & Co. KG offers certifications to OEKO-TEX® Standard 100, Sustainable Textile Production (STeP) by OEKO-TEX® and Made in Green by OEKO-TEX® as well as numerous material and quality tests and inspections for all types of textiles.
 
The Hohenstein Laboratories GmbH & Co. KG offers a wide range of tests and certifications which industry, trade and retail rely on as a proven basis for decision making in the development and marketing of products.
 
The Hohenstein Institut für Textilinnovation GmbH uses its application-oriented research and development of innovative products and methods to open up new market segments for the entire textile industry and its target markets.
 
The Hohenstein Academy e.V. offers basic and advanced training, workshops and conferences for the entire textile and clothing industry as well as for the related sectors of the economy.
Innovatext
The independent testing and research institute INNOVATEXT has been part of the Hohenstein Institute Group since 2004. The core competencies of the institution, which is the only one in its region to be accredited under EN ISO 17025, include, on the one hand, applied research as part of national and European research programmes and, on the other, a wide range of internationally recognised quality testing and certification procedures for textile raw materials and intermediate and end products. First founded as a state institution in 1949, the institute was successfully privatised during the political changes at the end of the 1980s. Today it serves about 500 regular customers, companies operating all along the textile supply chain in both Eastern and Western Europe. Innovatext has been a member of the International Oeko-Tex® Association since 1994.

Vier Institute unter einem Dach

Die Hohenstein Institute wurden 1946 als unabhängige und privatwirtschaftliche Forschungs- und Lehranstalt für die Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie sowie die gewerbliche Textilpflege gegründet. Das als Familienunternehmen geführte Prüf- und Forschungszentrum wird heute in dritter Generation von Prof. Dr. Stefan Mecheels geleitet. Um den rund 500 Mitarbeitern am Stammsitz in Bönnigheim Platz zu bieten, wurden dem Schloss mehrere Gebäude angegliedert.

Unter dem Dach der Hohenstein Institute arbeiten vier eigenständige Organisationen im Dienste des Kunden:

Die Hohenstein Textile Testing Institute GmbH & Co. KG bietet neben den Zertifizierungen nach OEKO-TEX® Standard 100, Sustainable Textile Production (STeP) by OEKO-TEX® und Made in Green by OEKO-TEX® zahlreiche Material-, und Qualitätsprüfungen sowie Inspektionen für alle Arten von Textilien an.
 
Die Hohenstein Laboratories GmbH & Co. KG bietet ein breites Spektrum von Prüfungen und Zertifizierungen an, auf das Industrie, Gewerbe und Handel als bewährte Entscheidungsgrundlage bei ihrer Produktentwicklung und -vermarktung zurückgreifen.
 
Das Hohenstein Institut für Textilinnovation gGmbH erschließt mit seiner anwendungsnahen Forschung und Entwicklung von innovativen Produkten und Verfahren neue Marktsegmente für die gesamte Textilbranche und für deren Zielmärkte.
 
Die Hohenstein Academy e.V. bietet Aus- und Weiterbildungsangebote, Workshops und Tagungen für die gesamte Textil- und Bekleidungsbranche sowie damit in Zusammenhang stehende Wirtschaftszweige an.
Innovatext
Das unabhängige Prüf- und Forschungsinstitut INNOVATEXT gehört seit 2004 zur Gruppe der Hohenstein Institute. Zu den Kernkompetenzen der einzigen in der Region nach EN ISO 17025 akkreditierten Einrichtung zählt einerseits die anwendungsorientierte Forschung im Rahmen nationaler und europäischer Forschungsprogramme sowie andererseits ein breites Spektrum international anerkannter Qualitätsprüfungen und Zertifizierungen für textile Roh-, Zwischen- und Endprodukte. 1949 als Staatsbetrieb gegründet, wurde das Institut zur politischen Zeitenwende Ende der 1980er Jahre erfolgreich privatisiert und betreut heute einen Kundenstamm von rund 500 in Ost- und Westeuropa angesiedelten Unternehmen entlang der textilen Wertschöpfungskette. Innovatext ist seit 1994 Mitglied der Internationalen Oeko-Tex®Gemeinschaft.